#TeamSODELPA 2018

Provisionally Selected Candidates 

Social Democratic Liberal Party: Provisionally Selected Candidates 
1 Sept 2018

The Social Democratic Liberal Party (SODELPA) has confirmed and announced the names of 42 provisionally selected candidates for the 2018 General Elections.

Party Leader & former Prime Minister Sitiveni L Rabuka made the announcement at a fundraising dinner held Saturday 1 September 2018.

Candidates have statutory and party requirements to fulfil before they are named. The following 42 were named at the Party Fundraiser on Saturday September 2018. Other candidates have yet to fulfil party and statutory requirements, while some are working in government or statutory bodies, or serve on boards of Statutory Bodies, or have relatives in government or statutory bodies, and prefer that their names be announced only when the Writ of Election is issued.

While all provisional candidates are "national candidates" as Fiji has only one national constituency, the SODELPA Management Board resolved to appoint candidates in a manner such that they have a "geographic" base. This allows voters to identify and hold their "candidate" or Member of Parliament responsible when it comes to development issues, and these candidates can take their issues up in Parliament, and nationally. Candidates are not limited to their geographic "base" and may campaign to their relatives and connections in other parts of Fiji (and overseas). The Board made its decision based on the geographic spread of our population and those Divisions and Provinces that have higher population density, have more candidates 'seats'. Each Province has at least 1 candidate.

Each Province has at least one Candidate, the bigger, more populous provinces have more than one candidate. If the candidate for a Province has not yet been named, rest assured one will be named for your Province, your candidate has either asked not to be named yet, or is yet to fulfil a Party or Statutory Requirement. The statutory requirements are set under the Constitution Decree 2013 and the Electoral Decree 2013 and include residency requirements (which disqualified at least 3 candidates in 2014 - Anare Jale, Makereta Waqavonovono) and requires those nominated to the Elections Office to prove they are 'ordinarily resident in Fiji - which means they must have spent a minimum of 6 months of the preceding two years in Fiji. Other requirements including proving they are not an undischarged bankrupt, satisfy the requirement not to have had a conviction in the last 8 years, etc. There are also party requirements including a candidate levy, references, evidence of community involvement in their chosen 'geographic base' or 'constituency', as well as medical report, etc.

The 42 Candidates named on Saturday 1 September 2018 are:

1. Jese Saukuru (Ba Central/Yasawa)

2. Nacanieli Waka (Ba East)

3. Meretui Ratunabuabua (Ba West)

4. Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu (Cakaudrove East)

5. Niko Nawaikula (Cakaudrove West)

6. Sitiveni L Rabuka (Cakaudrove West/ National)

7. Simione Rasova (Kadavu)

8. Dr. Mere Samisoni (Lami)

9. Anare Jale (Lau)

10. Albert Wise (Lautoka)

11. Inia Qereqeretabua (Lautoka)

12. Peceli Vosanibola (Lomaiviti)

13. Nemani Bulitavu (Macuata)

14. Ratu Tevita Niumataiwalu (Macuata)

15. Adi Narayan [National (Central)]

16. Arvind Deo Singh [National (Western)]

17. Ezekiel Sharma [National (Northern)]

18. George Shiu Raj [National (Western)]

19. Rev. Jone Kata (Nadi)

20. Inosi Kuridrani (Navosa i Wai)

21. Viliame Gavoka (Nadroga)

22. Aseri Radrodro (Naitasiri)

23. Peceli Rinakama (Naitasiri)

24. Ro Kiniviliame Kiliraki (Naitasiri)

25. Ratu Suliano Matanitobua (Namosi)

26. Berenado Daveta (Nasinu)

27. Jope Koroisavou (Nasinu)

28. Pio Tabaiwalu (Nasinu)

29. Ropate Ligairi (Nasinu)

30. Salote Radrodro (Nasinu)

31. Simione Drole (Navosa)

32. Uraia Salababa [Ra (Nakorotubu/Nalawa)]

33. Malakai Nalawa [Ra (Rakiraki/Saivou)]

34. Ro Teimumu Kepa (Rewa)

35. Tanya Waqanika (Suva)

36. Adi L Qionibaravi (Tailevu North)

37. Ratu Isoa Tikoca (Tailevu South)

38. Ratu Jone Rabici Seniloli (Tailevu South)

39. Kitione Vuataki (National: Lautoka/Macuata)

40. Lynda Tabuya (National/Nasinu)

41. Ro Filipe Tuisawau (National/ Nadi/Rewa)

42. Jiosefa Dulakiverata (National/Tailevu North)